Tuesday, February 23, 2010

JJ Fetter - San Diego Hall of Champions

As the centerpiece of the San Diego Hall of Champions, the Breitbard Hall of Fame honors outstanding athletes from San Diego as well as athletes who have achieved stardom for local teams.

Sailing is among the 20 sports recognized by the Hall, with the list of inductees including Dennis Conner, Gerry Driscoll, Joe Jessop, Lowell North, Malin Burnham, and Mark Reynolds. And the list just grew again as JJ Fetter was inducted on Monday, February 22, 2010.

After becoming only the third female sailor in the history of intercollegiate sailing to win All-America honors, Fetter went on to win two Olympic medals, four world championships, compete against men in match-racing events around the world and serve as tactician and starting helmsman during much of the 1995 America’s Cup campaign on the all-female crew of the Bill Koch-backed Mighty Mary. During this period she was named the Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year four times.

The Breitbard Hall of Fame’s annual Salute to the Champions dinner is a major event in San Diego. Prominent civic leaders, elite athletes, local media personalities… and fans, lots of them. Many inspirational stories and worthy honorees. Very impressive evening.

Congrats to JJ!

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]


At 10:39 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Congrats to JJ!

Wonder if Lowell North should be in there - he was olympic medal winner in 1968 as helmsman


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home